Loneliness

He comes to me at night.

He beats me down and twists me up.

Makes me believe I’m nothing without him.

Then he leaves.

Sometimes he finds me walking alone.

I try to duck the other way

but he somehow always finds me in a crowd.

He walks beside me so no one else can.

Sits next to me so no one else can.

Embraces me so no one else can.

He alienates me from everyone who tries to get close.

He wants to spend time with me.

Just the two of us.

Makes me believe he’s all I need.

Then he leaves.

Sometimes for a long time,

but he always comes crawling back

just when I start to believe he’s gone for good.

Leave a Reply

